Thoughts of a Perfectionist

Abe
4 min readFeb 18, 2020

The things you can learn with the use of a mirror

Perfection has left me in the pit; stuck and unable to find a way out. Full of angst and frustration, I walk out of the scene with disappointment. Maybe you have seen that scene?

Today’s session was the best thing that happened to me this weekend.

I got to my apartment and rushed towards my room. It was already past 10 PM and I felt guilty for rushing in late to the party.

At 10 PM every day, I face myself face to face, uno a uno, one vs one.

I face the mirror and start talking. I start saying things that don’t make sense. Most of the time, I’m just describing my feelings at the moment. When I feel like I’m capturing my feelings and associated emotions, I find a sense of relief.

At that’s what this is. It’s therapy.

Every day at 10 PM, I face myself in the mirror and converse with my twin brother. We talk happiness, career, women, music, ideas, and sometimes we just look at each other unable to face each other because what I’ve just said happens to be the funniest shit we ever heard.

It’s a moment unto itself. Self-sufficient and complete in its magnificence.

The moment is full of life, but you can only hear us whisper to each other. At the…

--

--

Abe

I write about holistic growth and trading futures. You can find more on my substack as well @ https://simpletrading.substack.com