Self-care: Ep. 2 | How To Overdose On Courage

Abe
5 min readApr 12, 2020

By taking a real, deep, breath.

There was a time when I wholeheartedly believed that life had something against me. I sort of kept a tab on the amount of negative bullshit that I had experienced and made a habit of recalling those moments, unfortunately, on the days I felt slightly unimpressed with who I had become.

As the list continued to grow, I developed an equally less confident perspective of life and how I felt about myself in it. It never quite got so dark that I would’ve considered it depression, but it was a nasty attitude that, with enough momentum, could've destroyed the life that I now live.

Of course, there are multiple factors that have led me astray from that attitude, but the biggest change came as a result of learning how to deep breathe.

If I may look back and recall how I stumbled on deep breathing, I might be able to convince you why it should be your next move.

It was my second semester of 10th grade when I first learned about deep breathing. I enrolled in the required classes for my grade and had the option of adding an elective. At that time, there was no PE elective, which was my favorite, that I could add to my schedule. I browsed the other options and saw: drama, yoga, and something I can’t remember.

--

--

Abe

I write about holistic growth and trading futures. You can find more on my substack as well @ https://simpletrading.substack.com