Oh, Social Media.

Abe
3 min readDec 20, 2019

The reflections I just had to share

As much as I wouldn’t like to admit, social media effects me.

It feels more real now than it ever has in the past. It’s become obvious because I see the impact.

And I’m just starting to notice. I already feel behind and can’t help but ran around in my head trying to catch up.

“Fuck, I did it again.”

I get on and start to scroll.

And then I remember the promise that I made to myself.

So, I log off and take an intentional deep breath.

For a moment. I feel a hint of disappointment. What follows however, is a sense of relief. A sense of triumph against a formidable enemy.

I mean, it’s mind boggling that an amazing invention could have such side effects.

One day it has you soaring with motivational quotes. The next day, it reminds you of the amazing things you have yet to accomplish and it even whispers, “what’s wrong? What’s taking you so long?”

For so long, I admired myself for holding my ground against social media. I would laugh and scoff off when someone shares about their struggles. I used to believe I had a supernatural defense mechanism for social media’s temptations. I specifically remember boasting that the content I…

--

--

Abe

I write about holistic growth and trading futures. You can find more on my substack as well @ https://simpletrading.substack.com