How you do anything is how you do everything

Abe
4 min readMar 25, 2020

Something I learned through a personal experiment

I heard this phrase in a podcast a few years ago and it really stuck like glue.

Since then, it has resurfaced periodically to remind me to dig deeper into its meaning. Often times I acknowledge it but I don’t give it any more attention, but recently, it resurfaced with much frequency I couldn’t ignore it anymore.

So I did what I do best, I went into research mode.

I took out a journal and started writing down goals for each day. It was sort of like a todo-list that helped organize my day.

I planned the experiment for two weeks. One week I would journal and naturally go about my day. In the second week, I would add a morning routine that I felt positively influenced my mood.

Following the first week, I sat down and looked at the progress that I made the previous 6 days. And what I started to notice is that I had two types of days.

One was productive. And the other was totally unproductive.

I never had days where I was in the middle.

First week

When I saw that trend, it made me chuckle because it validated how unpredictable my results had been. It made sense of the things I had seen in…

--

--

Abe

I write about holistic growth and trading futures. You can find more on my substack as well @ https://simpletrading.substack.com