Freedom ain’t cheap

Abe
3 min readApr 5, 2020

You gotta work to earn your keep

A few days ago, I had a valuable epiphany.

I was sitting at the top of my bed, looking out the adjust window as the traffic moved up and down University Ave. I noticed the sun start to set and couldn’t help but stop whatever it was that I was doing and open my window. The air was fresh and almost vacuumed the smell of the room and only left fresh air.

It was a great way to start an evening. My room was illuminated by the beauty of the setting sun. When I could, I peeked my face closer to the window to bath my face even more.

It was a beautiful moment.

It felt right.

Prior to that moment, I was on multiple video chats for work and the amount of screen time drained my energy. I felt depleted and ran towards my window to see the sun, again.

As I was watching pedestrians crossing the street, I felt a sense of gratitude.

I’m not sure if people-watching is something that brings peace, but today, it felt like the perfect gateway from my troubles. A perfect prescription for all the moments I had paused too long without a deep breath — it brought a stillness that I hadn’t felt in a while.

The peace helped me move on from myself onto the characters that I saw walking in front of me…

--

--

Abe

I write about holistic growth and trading futures. You can find more on my substack as well @ https://simpletrading.substack.com