Essentials #1 — Daily Exercise

Abe
3 min readNov 5, 2020

We have evolved to search, find, and pursue, but we rarely do that nowadays

I think most of us misunderstand exercise.

Exercise is not just a routine workout that helps you drop a couple of pounds. It’s also not just a magical stress reliever.

It is a basic function of the human body.

If you think about how far we have come, you realize that our lives have become 100% efficient. We have automated most of our daily needs, and especially with this pandemic, have ultimately embraced a sedentary lifestyle.

During that time, our bodies accumulate and hold on to an alarming amount of energy, almost sort of like how a volcano builds up before an inevitable eruption.

And so the question is whether we take initiative and voluntarily erupt the volcano in controlled doses or become the victims of untimely eruptions: emotional rollercoasters that drain our mental capacity to live according to our values.

And that’s where exercise comes in.

Let me illustrate by sharing an example.

Often times, I will go to sleep with an ambitious list of todo items for the next day.

I have dreams and goals that deserve a level of focus and accountability, and that’s my way of being intentional…

--

--

Abe

I write about holistic growth and trading futures. You can find more on my substack as well @ https://simpletrading.substack.com